Just another WordPress.com site

A Pretty Awesome Day of Doing Nothing

Swinging @ the State FairSpent the day at the State Fair today, where I did not actually ride too many rides, but spent most of my time people watching. And then there was all the overpriced the food, the main reason I went. There is just something inexplicable about carnival food. It smells better than it tastes. And despite knowing that at my age from decades of experience, you still get suckered into spending way too much money on the stuff. And this year, boy did I ever spend. Over the course of the day, I imbibed enough food to make Adam Richman proud. Let’s see. All totaled, I wolfed down a twenty-four inch corndog; a cheeseburger the size of a hubcap, made up of enough bun to choke an elephant to death . . . and enough meat to be an elephant; a bucket of fries large enough to put Idaho out of business (which surprisingly, turned out to be some of the best fries I have eaten in ages – go figure); a barbecued turkey leg the size of meat portions from The Flintstones; and somehow found the space to choke down a vanilla icecream cone the size of the Burj Khalifa. We’re I a camel or something, I think that I have stored up enough food in my extra stomachs, to go a month or two across the Sahara without.

Probably the highlight of the day, was getting backstage and catching the Jefferson Starship sound check. They are playing later tonight, so I will be returning to the Fair to catch them play.

All in all, it was a great day. The weather was perfect – lots of sunlight, and just the right amount of heat and cold, with a slight breeze. Plus there were tons of interesting people (a surprising number of them, really hot even) to people watch – something I used to do a lot, long ago during my artsy phase, when I had a lot more free time on my hands, and a serious interest in observing random people all day.

Gonna do the food coma now, and then head back out in a couple hours to catch Starship. Foghat is opening for them, so it should be a fantastic end, to a pretty awesome day of doing nothing.

Leave a Reply

